Let’s all celebrate the humble toilet.


Well here I am debating with myself about what to talk about today on this overcast dreary Monday in Salford, Manchester. I was hoping it was going to be sunny and had already had in mind to write an inspiring article on the wonderful cooling nature of a cold shower. But seeing as it’s a miserable day I was’nt feeling that inspired about writing about showers so I had to think of something else. To try and find inspiration I was flicking through our brochure and came across our toilet section. I know what your thinking, why would I stop on this section and give it any real thought, I mean it’s just a toilet what’s interesting about that. So I decided to do a little bit of research on where the toilet came from and why we should see the toilet as an invention so amazing it should be celebrated as much as the invention of the light bulb. So on to a few short paragraphs all about the humble toilet.

The toilet is simply put, amazing. That’s right people I am in awe of the humble toilet. Let me explain so you don’t view me as some strange bloke who has a toilet fetish because that’s defiantly not the case. But I want you to imagine what it would be like if the toilet didn’t exist, go on close your eyes and just imagine. Now I know that everyone’s imagination is different but I’m guessing you all pulled abit of a face at imagining a world with no toilet. Well that world was actually not that long ago, the modern flushing toilet we all instantly recognised was only invented in 1596 but only became popular and manufactured in the late 1800’s.

Image

Without the invention of the toilet we would be rife with disease and personal health issues not even mentioning the smell. This is why the invention of the toilet is such a historic invention and should not be overlooked. The name mainly associated with the invention of the toilet is Thomas Crapper. Thomas was not the first person to invent a flushing toilet but it was Thomas who re-finned the toilet to what we know a toilet is now. Thomas also owns the patent for the toilet and so was a key player in the rise of the toilet. It should also be mentioned that Thomas Crappers surname Crapper has become a slang name for the toilet.

A toilet’s main function is to get rid of the waste us humans produce from eating and living. It’s as much a necessary bodily function as breathing (not going to the toilet won’t have an immediate impact like stopping breathing would, but you get what I mean) our body’s produce waste and it needs expelling from us, otherwise we can get extremely ill and even die. So waste is always going to be produced and so having a toilet to take the waste away to a sewage plant is essential.

Well I know this is only a very short blog on the wonder that is the toilet, but I did only just want to highlight the importance and let you all know we should be celebrating the toilet every now and again for the great work it does. If you need a new toilet then check out our range here. Or if you want more information on the toilet then I found this fantastic website with lots of toilet information (the website is to help get better toilets into schools but has some really useful information) check it out here. As always any comments are appreciated and thanks for reading.

So let us now raise our glasses in celebration of the toilet.

PS I’ll be back with another Toilet celebration blog on World Toilet Day 19 November.

4 thoughts on “Let’s all celebrate the humble toilet.

    • Thanks for the comment I see you work for a toilet paper company so we are partners in celebrating the toilet. Make sure to pop back on 19 of November and i’ll make sure i also write about toilet paper as well.

Leave a Reply

