Paralympics and Bathroom Gadgets


The Paralympics is nearly upon us literally it will be starting in a couple of hours and I am very excited. The Olympics was simply outstanding and the atmosphere was sublime and as an added bonus Great Britain did well in the medals tally as well. It was amazing to see top notch athletes in the peak of human fitness breaking world records but for me I think the Paralympics is going to be even better. I mean breaking world records is one thing breaking world records with say only having 1 leg or scoring 5 amazing goals in football but being blind is simply outstanding.

So I thought to myself how to link the Paralympics to a bathroom. Then it hit me, I love gadgets and so I thought I will find a few gadgets/products suitable to grace any Paralympian’s bathroom.

Here are just three great gadgets/products that I found which are affordable and could be used by a number of athletes with a range of disabilities.

Suction brush

This is the cheapest of the three items that I have discovered and it is a very simple product but has quite a wide range of potential uses.

The product is a lightweight plastic brush that has the ability to be attached to most hard surfaces as it contains two suction cups on the back of the brush. This gives the user the ability to scrub their hands, feet or sports boots with only one hand. The brush is easily portable and can be attached easily with only a small amount of pressure being applied to the brush. I think this is a great simple gadget that can be used in many different situations.

Quick Suction Rail Grips

The next gadget/product is similar in some respects to the brush yet completely different at the same time. The product is a grip that like the brush has suction cups on and can be positioned almost anywhere on a hard surface. The grip is a support unit that helps people with a disability grab hold of and help to either pull themselves up or lower themselves down. The added bonus for Paralympic athlete’s is that the grip could be used to do pull ups on or sits ups so the grip could be used as an exercise aid.

Bathroom Mirror with Sensor

The last but not least bathroom gadget/product for disabled people is a mirror that has LED lights that activate via a built in sensor. This is a brilliant mirror as you don’t need to touch, pull or move anything simply entering the bathroom is enough to activate the lights. This product becomes really useful if needing the loo in the middle of the night as there’s no need to be flailing about trying to find a light switch. A great product for disabled people as no extra effort is needed.

So that wraps up my brief few bathroom gadgets/products for disabled people. I know there are hundreds more amazing products out there that can benefit disabled people greatly.

As always please leave any comments as I love hearing from you all and I hope you all enjoy watching the Paralympics.

Leave a Reply

